• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Mascara

Hello ladies! Recently I’ve been in search of a good mascara. I’ve tried a few…but I want suggestions! First let me review my most recent mascara purchase, Make Up Forever Smoky Lash.

To be honest I know very little about the Make Up Forever brand and so I had no real expectations for the product. I know they are a well known brand and I know they have strong pigmented shadows, but nothing about their mascara or anything else, really. That being said at my last Sephora raid I picked up this product as my mascara had gone dry. Based on the fact that it’s called “smoky lash” I assumed it would be a bit heavy and that I wouldn’t need to apply too much. For the most part this has been true. The brush is large and designed to add volume to a vast amount of lashes at a time.

This can be a good thing or a bad thing really… I have long lashes and while they are not super curly… I do not need an eyelash curler for them, which is lucky because it doesn’t way my lashes down. However, in my experience with this products so far I’ve also found too much product comes oozed in the cracks of the brush and if you’re not careful it will clump up on your lashes. So fine, I’m careful with that… it’s not a “real” issue, especially for people who DO use eye lash curlers. Also because a lot can come out you can just dip it in once, maybe twice if you spread evenly within those two times. That I learned the hard way, because the first few times it bulked up on my lashes, and it was just a nasty eye makeup fail. >.< I didn’t like this, because it’s never ever been a problem before for me. Alright, so now I know how much to apply and my lashes look long and nice, right!?

Well…yes… They DO in fact look long and nice… EXCEPT FOR:

what’s being marked by the red arrows… See those long lashes going downward…that almost look like they are part of the lashes that grow from under the eye well those completely stick to my lower lashes and as the day progresses and the make-up wears, it gets IN my eye and it is a very uncomfortable feeling. As the day goes on I can feel the excess falling off my eyelashes and when I’m lucky it does not go in my eye and just fizzle onto my skin, but when it does get in it irritates my eyes a lot.

I’ve trie to lighten this pic enough for you to see what my eyelashes look like at the end of the day… how there are particles of it sitting under my eye…and how limp they look.

For some of you this product may work, but I always want to be honest with you all about my experiences, and this has not been the best. I’ll probably keep using it until I finish it as it was $22, but I don’t think it’s worth the monies.

Now for suggestions! Leave me suggestions as comments on here of what you love and are loyal to! I’ll pick about three to test out myself and review in the near future. It doesn’t matter the cost or brand. Likely will not spend any more thant $22 on any tho…so if your mascara costs more than that I can’t afford that right now. Can’t wait to hear from you all. ā¤


Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Heather

     /  October 30, 2011

    I don’t have much experience with a large array of mascara, but I can say that the only one I’ve found that doesn’t leave my eyes bloodshot by the end of the day is Almay hypoallergenic mascara. Out of the small handful of mascaras I’ve tried, I can also say that this one was the least clumpy. It is also affordable and you can find it pretty easily, it seems. I am sure there are probably better, high-end mascaras out there, but if you’re looking for something convenient, affordable, and gentle, this might be worth looking into. Heather

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      I just recently bought an almay product… The eye awakener. (dark circle = huge problem) I haven’t tried anything else tho. Your eye irritation sounds worse than what I have experienced with this product.

      Reply
  2. I need to try this mascara!

    Reply
  3. A.B

     /  October 30, 2011

    Hiya! I use Rimmel Max Volume Lash. I hate having “chunky eye” and many brands usually sting my eyes! ;/ but this one does not! Its not to pricey and its just the perfect amount on my lashes! Also, I have really long lashes and therefore usually dont use any, but this brand really does widen my eyes!

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      Not pricey = plus to me! $22 for this product; I expected more!

      Reply
  4. Ella

     /  October 30, 2011

    My favourite mascara so far is the maybelline great lashes- the one with the green bottle and pink lid. It’s cheap which is a great bonus. However, a month ago I went to Sydney for IMATS and picked up a nifty little mascara comb which works a treat! It looks pretty lethal for putting near your eyeball coz it’s a small metal comb but it gives you far more precision in getting right into the lashline and good separation too.

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      This :lethal: comb sounds amazing! I’m going to search for one. Combing my lashes is a mission. I’ve used needles before so this may be a much safer idea! ā¤

      Reply
      • Ella

         /  October 31, 2011

        Check out crownbrushes.com.au- pretty sure that was the name of the stall I got it from at the expo x

      • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

         /  October 31, 2011

        I googled them on the Sephora site… I think I’m going to have to invest in one! Thank you so much for bringing this into my life!

  5. Gerri

     /  October 30, 2011

    Benefit “they’re real!” mascara works wonders for my lashes. The brush is weirdly designed to reach those lashes that you can never get to with other brushes and as a result actually coats all the lashes on your eye. The brush also separates and curls the lashes. i didn’t experience any clumping or flakes at the end of the day. I first tried this mascara when I was getting a make over at the Benefit counter and was so happy with what it did that I bought it then and there.

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      That sounds like a fun experience. I will look into this one at my next sephora raid. I think I’ll post my final 3 picks Tuesday.

      Reply
  6. Cynthia

     /  October 31, 2011

    I have long lashes but they are very thin and straight, which makes it hard for me to find a mascara that works. Because they are very straight I can only use waterproof mascara and the formula cannot clump up since I sometimes have to curl them after I apply mascara (I know it’s a no-no but my lashes do not always cooperate). The one mascara I find that works pretty well for me is Maybelline Full and Soft waterproof version. It doesn’t flake or smudge and also doesn’t make my lashes stiff since it’s waterproof. I sometimes have to apply more than two coats but it’s pretty much what the title says; full and soft. I’ve tried the regular version as well but as with all non-waterproof formulas, they undo the curl and get like what you experienced (go downward) with the MUFE mascara. I’ve also tried Cover Girl’s mascara (waterproof version) that comes in an orange tube. I’ve heard a bunch of people rave about it (Micheline even recommended it at her makeup class) and to me it was okay. When I can’t find the Maybelline one I use the Cover Girl as a back-up.

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      Looks like I’ll need to pick up one waterproof mascara for my three picks! I’m not a huge fan of waterproof but it could be the one I have used. ā¤

      Reply
  7. Linda

     /  October 31, 2011

    I tend to be pretty pedantic when it comes to my lashes. They can’t be clumped at all otherwise I go insane. Here are my two favourites šŸ™‚ I actually prefer them once they have been used for a few weeks, as I think they are a bit too runny to begin with, but I still love them!

    Reply
    • Enhancing and Staying Beautiful

       /  October 31, 2011

      Thanks! I’ll look into them later this morning. ā¤

      Reply
  8. Natalie Ad.

     /  October 31, 2011

    Zoom Fast Black Lash by MAC is my favorite, gives me volume and length even though the brush is not curled! ā¤

    Reply
  9. Yanita

     /  October 31, 2011

    Here are my top choices, like I said, I only get cheap ones since they run dry so quickly anyways: 1) Cover Girl Las Exact is the one I go to most often, it has great separation which is all I need since I have long curly lashes already; 2) Maybelline Colassal also separates pretty well and it’s the only mascara that smells good, not like mascara; and 3) Loreal Voluminous for those evenings when I want a bit thicker fully look.

    Reply
  10. Ultimately, a difficulty that I’m passionate about. I have looked for data of this caliber for the previous various hours. Your site is greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  11. Michelle B

     /  November 1, 2011

    The Mascara i use is from the eyelash extensions line we have at the salon i work for called Misencil . I once had the eyelash extensions put on since our aesthetician needed someone for the class she was taking. They have this Mascara for eyelash extensions that you have to use in order to keep the false eyelashes in good condition and even after a few months after the eyelash extensions were removed i still buy and use this mascara because of it’s moisturizing agents.. Most mascaras i’ve used tend to go flaky and dry up on my eyelashes but the Misencil mascara is rich and luxurious and is easy to remove from your eyelashes since it was designed for eyelash extensions use šŸ˜€

    Reply
  1. Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara « b.e.a.u.t.y

Leave a Reply

