• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Finally MAC Paint Pots and Benefit Creasless Cream Eyeshadow

Well hello there all! Sigh….I am soooo sorry I haven’t been able to update my blog as I promised. I think I mentioned it before that I am currently computerless right? Yes? Just Checking! Here I am now tho…at your service:

So let’s get to it! I was asked by a few readers what info I could give them on MAC paint pots, what opinion do I have? How do I use them? What brush do I use? Well, this got me thinking why just MAC? I mean, there are other brands out there that have “paint pots!” I feel like people gravitate toward MAC because of the name without giving other brands a chance, which kind of bugs me. Don’t get me wrong I looove MAC; usually resort to them for eyeshadows, but I do give other brands some love as well. Gotta be open minded guys! I understand people have brand loyalty and they go to who they know, but who you know isn’t necessarily the only good brand or the best, give some other brands a chance! For the purposes of this blog I have one MAC paint pot and one Benefit Creaseless eyeshadow, which basically is a cream shadow for both, but each give it their own fancy name.

Image belongs to Temptalia.com

So here is my first question to you? Which is MAC and which is Benefit??? Aside from perhaps owning one or the other and therefore knowing which color belongs to who, what really tells you which is which? My bet, you own the MAC product if you own one at all. Don’t get me wrong here guys, I’m not bashing MAC nor anyone’s taste for it, clearly I have products and love them, but I like to try other brands, give them a chance, let them surprise me.

Now for what you really came for my opinion on the type of product. I have to say I am personally quite bias toward cream based products. I find them easier to apply as well as beautiful.

Benefit Cosmetics Packaging 1

Get0-Figgy

Benefit Cosmetics Packaging 2

Can I just say that I love everything about the packaging that Benefit did for this particular product. I come from a design background; have my ba in Graphic Design, and designs like these are beautiful to me. The box comes with an ikat design on the sides and doves on the top, a die cut in the middle which allows them to place an image of a retro looking doll. On the backside of the doll there is the quote “And on the 7th day makeup was created.” – Gabbi Very clever idea, making the their packaging even more fun.

MAC-Paint-Pot-Indianwood

MAC Cosmetics Paint Pot

Here is the MAC stuff, the product that made me fall in love with cream based shadows. Aren’t both the colors I’ve presented you with beautiful. I know, I know earthy and very little offset. I personally do not where very dark colors, because tones like these flatter me the most. If I do where dark I prefer to use pressed powder shadows.

Indianwood-MAC-and-Get-Figgy-Benefit

Get Figgy and Indianwood

Um, have I mentioned I have long lashes? So please excuse the excess mascara on my lids, that happens when you haven’t removed what your lashes get on them. Sometimes I just don’t remove it at all because it’s a pain. haha, anyway here I have the Benefit color on the actual lid of the eye and the Indianwood by MAC on the crease. If you didn’t know which was which brand from this blog, would you be able to tell? Honestly, tell me! How does it look to you? In my experience they are smooth and easily applicable, these two colors are perfect for day time and spring/summer seasons. The Indianwood is also beautiful for the fall and the Get Figgy if matched with a darker color like gray or silver is also appropriate for winter, remember to play around and break the rules. If you are unlike me these particular products are easy to put on with your finger, just spread it over with the index finger and blend with the middle fingers and voila! However, I being a little OCD as mentioned in previous blogs have found the brush from Stila that I mentioned a couple of blogs ago best. The thinner smaller end is great because it is synthetic so it easily picks up the color and can hit the inner corners of the eye without blotching.

Other things I like about this type of shadow is that you can use it as a shimmer, bronzer, eyeliner etc…
It can last you quite awhile unless you pack it on, which you really don’t need to because the colors apply quite smoothly with not too much product.
They are long lasting.
They are classy and wearable at all times of day/night.
It is easily cleaned off at night or whenever you cleanse your face. (Do it daily, don’t ever ever skip a day of washing it all off!)
Typically here I’d have BUT WHAT I DON’T LIKE, this time, I don’t have one. Like everyone I have my favorite products that I can’t complain about and for me this is one of them.

Do you have any specific questions on this product that I can assist with or do some research on for you? Please do tell me? I’m always looking to find out what you guys want to read and learn about.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I need to try these products!

    Reply
  2. Erin

     /  January 23, 2012

    I might be braindead from work, but the name of the Benefit shade pictured is Get Figgy, right? So pretty! I’m not a big cream shadow fan, but you’ve convinced me to give it a try.

    Reply
  3. Yana

     /  January 23, 2012

    Ummm I need to try now!! I’ve never tried cream shadows because I always thought they would crease over the hours. Do you still use a base primer? Can you mix the cream w regular shadows?

    Reply
    • I don’t typically wear primer but if you do then I would because cream always sits better on primer.

      I do mix the cream with powder pressed shadows. I just mixed here two cream based ones because I wanted to show two different brands.

      Definitely no crease because you don’t pack it onto your eye…if you caked it then that would happen but it’s never good to cake any product on.

      Reply
  4. I like MAC paintpots but my biggest issue is how dry they go after a few months. I use them to layer colors. Have you seen the new Maybelline Tattoo cream shadows, they look fab and a fellow mua tells me they are quite vibrant and at $5.99 a great deal to boot.

    Reply
  5. i owned a lip color that when applied dried instantly, and i mean it didn’t budge until i pried it off with a hot towel, wouldn’t it be great if they could make an eyeshadow that does this? anyway speaking of mac, have you tried the gel eyeliner?

    Reply
    • I have tried the gel liner. I’m currently not using it as my previous one dried up bc I wasn’t using it and then a friend gave me a Stila sample. I like it tho it’s pretty nice altho I’m considering using a paint pot as a black liner next. Have you used it? If so, do you like it?

      Reply
  6. Gerri

     /  January 24, 2012

    I definitely have to try these out too!! I’ve always mainly used powder shadows. Cream shadows usually crease for me. I must try the shadows as bronzers. I wonder what the cream shadows as eye liner would look like. Thanks for posting!

    Reply
  7. gail

     /  January 24, 2012

    i have a bunch of the mac pots and i use them all the time. i also have to say that i use the dark ones (blackground is my favorite) with a small angled brush as liner.

    i’ve never tried the benefit ones but maybe i’ll take a look at what colors they have and compare the price point.

    thanks. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Gerri

     /  January 24, 2012

    Thanks for the blog!! I must try out these cream shadows. I mostly use the powder shadows as I find the cream ones crease for me after a while. But it could be that I cake them on my lids. I do like the idea of using them as a bronzer. i wonder how using it as an eye liner will work. You must try this and let us know Fani!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Gail actually left me a comment saying she uses the black MAC paint pot as a eyeliner and seems to like it! I’m thinking when I finish my Stila gel liner ill look into getting a paint pot for that.

      Reply
      • Gerri

         /  January 24, 2012

        Hmm it will probably be easier than using an eyeliner pencil. I find that sometimes bits of the liner flake into my eyes when I am using a pencil liner. Oooh…idea for another blog!! Cream shadow as eye liner v. pencil liner v. liquid liner… πŸ™‚

      • Have you ever tried gel liners? MAC carries them as does Stila and other brands. I’m currently using Stila but I have used Mac in the past.

      • Gerri

         /  January 25, 2012

        Nope I haven’t tried gel liners… What do you think of them? Maybe an eye liner post πŸ™‚

      • Check out this tut on gel liners from beautizine I’ve been using gel liners for a handful of years, love it!

Leave a Reply

