• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Hope In A Bottle – Philosophy

My lovelies, I missed you!!! Last week was incredibly busy and I couldn’t dedicate the amount of time to the products/tools I want to talk about.

Today I have to tell you about my experience with Hope In a Bottle and why I decided a. it’s not for me and b. that I’m going to dump it out  and not finish it. Eek!

A. the first time I used it the scent was so intense! Very chemical scent and very strong; too too strong and overwhelming!

B. the ingredients.

This is the big one. I hadn’t looked at the ingredients, not that they usually mean anything to me, until now. You see I’m school for this kind of stuff and I’m learning to recognize certain ingredients.

Philosophy

Hope In a Bottle

active: salicylic acid 2.0%. inactives: water (aqua), ethylhexyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, butylene glycol, glyceryl stearate, allyl methacrylates crosspolymer, ppg-12⁄smdi copolymer, dimethicone, cetearyl alcohol, tocopheryl acetate, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil, peg-100 stearate, ceteareth-20, xanthan gum, polyacrylamide, c13-14 isoparaffin, laureth-7, triethanolamine, tetrasodium edta, propylene glycol, methylparaben, propylparaben, diazolidinyl urea.

I’m sure some of the others are bad too, but these particularly stand out and scream throw. me. away! Can I just tell you that last ingredient ending in UREA should be a red flag, it comes from horse urine! Granted it’s not like they tell the horse to pee into the containers and it’s treated, but it doesn’t take away from the fact that it’s URINE!

The issue with tocopheryl acetate is that it consists of vitamin E. This ingredient + sun = bad. Likely to stain your face over time. It’s fine when you’re going to use this product over night, but come on it’s a moisturizer in a bright clear bottle, that you’re going to use in the day likely. I mean, these chemists KNOW what they’re doing and if they don’t they shouldn’t be in the business, right?

How does this make you feel? Do you use this product? Did I scare ya? If you were me would you dump it?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Yana

     /  February 6, 2012

    Eeeeekkkk, glad you’re learning about ingredients, scary. Always wondered, now I’ll definitely never try!

    Reply
  2. Linda

     /  February 7, 2012

    I have a Philosophy face scrub thingy… I’m a bit scared to look at the ingredients now 0_o

    I hate that companies can put basically anything and everything into their products, even when it’s proven they are dangerous.

    Thanks for the information about the ingredients! It can be so overwhelming when you aren’t too sure on what exactly you’re looking for.

    Reply
    • It definitely is. I would research into ingredients that TURN INTO formaldehyde. Companies play on the fact that the consumer doesn’t know there are such ingredients and even tho formaldehyde is banned in most things they get around it that way.

      Reply
  3. Gerri

     /  February 7, 2012

    Oh wow!! Thank you for sharing the information. I think I will start paying more attention to the ingredients in what I put on my skin!

    Reply
  4. gail

     /  February 18, 2012

    http://www.penguin.ca/nf/Book/BookDisplay/0,,9780143172505,00.html

    this is a book i found very interesting (and scary) on this very topic. :O

    Reply
  5. gail

     /  February 18, 2012

    ugh, link won’t work. book is called There’s Lead In Your Lipstick by Gillian Deacon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

