• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Japanese Makeup Look

Japan! I’m a little obsessed with Japanese culture, but for those you that don’t know me, don’t be confused I am not Japanese. I did do a little bit of Japanese Art History in college, but that’s the extent. I think it’s a fascinating culture and I hope one day to go there. Not that long ago one of my readers asked me to do a post on the Japanese look in japan. I know very little about what girls in Japan like to dress up as and how they do their makeup but I’ve been doing some research.

disclaimer all the images were taken from other websites

Let’s start with the eyes:

d-up-wonder-eyelid-tape-set

Wonder Eyelid Tape Set - image: http://makeupforlife.net

In a lot of the YouTube videos I watched of Japanese girls doing their makeup I saw them using that V-shaped tool (thank goodness for them adding English captions, because otherwise I wouldn’t know what they were doing to their eye other than maybe stabbing it a bit!) You basically get a sum amount of precut strips of tape and with the V-shaped tool you put them on where you want the eye crease. You hold the eyebrow up stretch the lid and with either side of the tool stick on the tape. It seems based on the videos rather easy, but I’m sure it takes some practice to fully get it down.

pinkyparadise-circle-lens

Pink Contact Container EOS brand

Contacts! Pinks (like above), violets, aquas and bright or dark greens! So I have always wondered why they wear contacts and some of the results I got is that they’re pretty and less boring than the brown eyes that they were born with, the fun colors a cute and become an accessory and price is affordable. To me it almost make the eye look bigger as well, perhaps because they unnatural colors stand out a lot more especially when the girls use the eyelid tape.

From what I’ve been told and seen Japanese women have very thin and scarce lashes so a lot of the one that like to make themselves up get themselves falsies. Falsies in my opinion are awesome and add a flare to the look as well as making the eye look bigger. It helps women with smaller eyes if that is their goal. The lashes are usually not natural looking and pretty long, but they vary as not ALL Japanese women want long-obviously fake lashes.

japanese-shimmer-eyeshadow

The shimmery look - http://cocomotion.onsugar.com/

Japanese-matte-shadow

Matte Bright Shadow - http://sakura0325.blogspot.com

Eye shadows seem to lean more to the shimmery type but it does look like the matte colors are used, especially the brighter matte colors. There is a lot of attention given to the eye. I also noticed that there is a common practice of putting white or pale eyeshadow in the inner corner of the eye, this is done to give the illusion of a bigger eye. I do it sometimes, depending on the look I’m going for, though I do have big eyes already, so I don’t do it often.

Like in most countries the eyeliner is used to give more shape to the eye. Here is an ad for a liquid pen liner for Lovedrops.

Face:

I read on adverus.com that typically Asian women pick a color that is unnatural to their skin tone. They did not state if it’s lighter or darker, but based on observation I am going to go ahead and assume that the typical woman buys foundation lighter than what they need to.

http://www.mintel.com/blog/trend-insight-primers-japan <<— According to mintel Japan consisted of 1/3 of the launch activity for primer in 2010. This means they are very concerned with how their makeup goes on, spf and dry skin.

Lips:

Lip Balms before lipstick and then gloss or lipstick on top in bright pinks, nudes and soft earthy reds.

Watch a video of a Japanese girl putting on her makeup. Also if you have any input I can add or any information you found that you would like me to share. Let me know; like I said, I’m not expert.

 

From a reader:

Ooh this is all interesting!! And I would think that you have only scratched the surface on the Japanese make up look, if you put into consideration all the different subcultures the kids are into these days (i.e. lolita, goth, punk, goth lolita, etc.) as well as the tradtional geisha make up look. I think using the make up tape and the coloured contacts could also be to get a more “westernized” look. Whether it’s right or wrong, in general society the epitome of beauty is a “westernised” look. – Gerri

Yes, I definitely only scratched the surface! I think I would be here forever if I went into all the Lolita looks. I would love to do one on the Geisha history and look and how it’s transcended; perhaps in the future. If you have any information definitely share!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Gerri

     /  February 15, 2012

    Ooh this is all interesting!! And I would think that you have only scratched the surface on the Japanese make up look, if you put into consideration all the different subcultures the kids are into these days (i.e. lolita, goth, punk, goth lolita, etc.) as well as the tradtional geisha make up look. I think using the make up tape and the coloured contacts could also be to get a more “westernised” look. Whether it’s right or wrong, in general society the epitome of beauty is a “westernised” look.

    Reply
  2. Gerri

     /  February 15, 2012

    Eeek!! 😮

    Reply
  3. Gerri

     /  February 15, 2012

    Oh yes and please do a Geisha blog at some stage!! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Yana

     /  February 16, 2012

    Yes, I can totally relate to this! Japanese women spend so much time with products and makeup, but yet, for the most part, they look like they’ve barely put anything on. Of course, as Gerri says, there are many subcultures. Whenever I’m there and look at magazines or go to the stores to look at makeup, it’s all about “whitening” and the quest for long lashes.

    Reply
    • Gerri

       /  February 16, 2012

      I know with Chinese women it is also about “whitening”. I’m blessed with very long and full lashes for an Asian woman 🙂

      Reply
      • Yes I was told the the market in Asia is largely prone to whitening and lighter colored foundations as well as the middle east. It’s funny how things vary from nation to nation.

Leave a Reply

