• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Color Wheel Makeup Importance

Hello Beautiful Ladies! How are we doing this Wednesday? I’ve had a bit of an issue with my eye! Something got in it and I can’t seem to figure out what it is, but it is causing me quite the discomfort. Hmph!

I have a question for you guys. Have you ever noticed certain colors in makeup or clothes just not looking right on you? Something makes you look flushed or too pale or sick looking even? Yes? No? Maybe? Well it has to do with your skin tone and undertones. If any of you are artistically inclined you’ve heard of the color wheel and you know that there are rules about the color wheel. You have your complimentary colors, which you find across the way from each other and you have what they call split complimentary which is one of the triangle of three colors on the wheel and the triad. I’m only going to talk about the complimentary and split complimentary today.

Most women, and some men, should know just by looking in the mirror what skin tone they are as well as what undertones they have. For example I have an olive complexion that can very between a yellow green to a a yellow skin tone with a lot more green in it. I know what you’re thinking, wtf you’re not green! Well no, of course I’m not green, but I am slightly tan and the tan has green in it. Get it? My undertones are very rosy almost coral, coral consists of red, crimson, and orange . Those two colors are complimentary but close enough. Have I lost you yet? Let me show you a color wheel or two.

color-wheel

Color Wheel is From your decorating Hotline

Alright so here they outline what are complimentary and split complimentary colors.

Color-wheel-makeup

A Color Wheel I Did

This isn’t the BEST color wheel, but it’s pretty good for someone who was getting use to oil paint. Anyway, do we all remember our primary colors? Red, Yellow and Blue. All the colors in between each primary color has a bit the colors it’s in between or 50-50 of each. ie. green has equal parts yellow and blue. Are you still following me?

Ok so if I have olive green and coral in my skin what’s the main color that looks good on me? …..a very deep Violet. If we just consider olive green then what colors look good yellow oranges. To counter the undertone in my skin the complimentary is a light green. (This is why I use a green primer.)

If you have blueish dark circles what’s a good primer you can use with your concealer? A yellow orange color.

smashbox-apricot-primer

Smashbox Apricot Primer

 

All of this also goes for clothes… there are just colors that will wash your out or never work. Why some eye shadows look good on your friends and not you. Nothing wrong with you, it’s just your skin complexion. There is always something you can work with and blend. Hair color also comes into play. Play with colors and you’ll find what works best for you.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Gerri

     /  February 22, 2012

    What a great post! I have never known what my complimentary colours were. I think I have more a yellowish tinge to olive. So maybe similar to you. I do find that I look better in the blues, violets and reds, rather than the yellows.

    Reply
  1. Smashbox versus Make Up For Ever – Primer « b.e.a.u.t.y

Leave a Reply

