• Topics

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 53 other followers

  • Facebook Love

Mixing Eye Shadows!

Hellooooooo

So as I mentioned on Friday I graduated this past Saturday from FIDM. Well to do my makeup I was in a rush… between showering and other showering and getting dress, doing my nails (I didn’t have a chance the night before) PLUS the all important makeup. I did something fun, which I originally wasn’t sure how it would work…

Mixing up Purple and a highlighter eyeshadow.

Honestly this could have made me waste time than gain time, I lucked out. First I applied the NYX eye shadow base along my eyelid and the crease; not too much, but enough to cover the area. I was told about this awesome little product by a friend. I don’t wear eye shadow often, because I just don’t have the time and I don’t currently work at a place where how I dress even matters, but when I have an occasion to go to I pull it out and have it work it’s magic.

NYX-HD-eye-shadow-base

NYX HD Base

Secondly I was swiped one of my eyeshadow brushes in the plum colored eyeshadow and then in the highlighter shimmery shadow and swooped it over the eye! (I used Tarte of coures, but the item was an exclusive to QVC and is no longer available from what I could tell.) So what I did is I found a palette with similar colors that I used: Lorac PRO Palette

Lorac-Pro-palette

A Lorac Palette with Plum and a highlighter colors

Alright, the purple I used is much like the one on the lower row second from the right, or in this palette “Deep Purple” and the “White,” which in this palette seems to be matte. In my case both had some shimmer to them, but I think both work, and of course some people ONLY like matte colors, or will only use a shimmer color if they can offset it with a matte color and so, something like this palette would work best for you. I had less purple on the brush than the highlighter as it’s such an intense color, that I didn’t want to look bruised up. After applying over they eye, I won’t say it was perfect, but it looked so nice combined. Following the first application I added a little more and then cleaned it up with a clean brush and voila, I was done!

Later in the day I was complimented on my eye shadow, which is good as I belonged to the Beauty Industry program 😉

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Yana

     /  June 19, 2012

    Yay! The NYX primer works well, right? Very cool idea to mix straight of the bat.

    Reply
  2. Gerri

     /  June 19, 2012

    Oh, so you mixed the eye shadows right in the palette? Does the eye shadow primer work? I often have trouble getting my eye shadow to last the entire day on my lids.

    Reply
    • Yea it works fine. And yes I just mixed it in a palette which may or may not be something you want to do. I was in too much of a rush to worry haha!

      E. Madrigal

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
  1. NYX HD Eye Shadow Base « b.e.a.u.t.y

Leave a Reply

